3 Different Wheat Growing Stages

This article may contain some affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on any of teh links, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Since the 18th century, wheat has been the most prominent cereal crop mostly used in the production of pasta, and pizza. Wheat takes about 4 months to grow.

If you wish to grow wheat this season, you should have a clear understanding and an upgraded knowledge of the wheat growing stages. This way, you will have a bountiful harvest and also ward off those pests and diseases associated with wheat in its different growth stages.

Generally, there are three basic growth stages of wheat, including the pre-establishment stage, vegetative stage, and reproductive stage. Stay with us as we examine them extensively in the next few lines.

Different Wheat Growing Stages

1. Pre-establishment Stage

The pre-establishment stage of wheat is foundational and also the germination stage. It is the earliest stage of wheat growth and it is preceded by seed selection. The pre-establishment stage is divided into two sub-stages, they include:

  • Pre-emergence Stage: This stage is characterized by the germination of the seeds which in turn develops some seminal roots and coleoptiles. Here, enough and proper temperature and moisture are needed for better germination of the seeds
  • The Emergence Stage: At this stage, the sprouted coleoptiles are visible above the soil unlike in the pre-emergence stage

See Also: Different Peas Growing Stages

2. Vegetative Stage

After the pre-establishment stage, the next stage is the vegetative stage. And care must be taken here. It comprises the following sub-stages.

Seedling Stage: This stage follows immediately after germination. This is evident in the emergence of the first true leaves from the soil. This stage elapses as the first tiller begins to sprout. During the seedling stage, the root of the young plants increases up to 4-6 seminal roots.

Crown Root Stage: Another sub-vegetative stage is the crown root stage. Here, the appearance of roots in the form of a crown is observed. This usually coincides with the emergence of the last true leaves.

Tillering Stage: At this stage, the crown developed and began branching known as tillers. Each tiller can independently develop its stalk and seed head, and the number of tillers affects harvest. 

This stage can take place either before or after the winter dormancy stage in winter wheat. The difference between tillers and the true leaves lies in the fact that tillers have a sheath below. This sheath is named a prophyll.

Jointing Stage: The jointing stage is another vegetative stage of wheat growth. The stalks develop a hard joint and a second node. It’s more beneficial when all the wheat in your garden attains the joining stage together for bountiful harvest when the heads mature. Also, note that the tillers that did not do or develop well die off at this stage.

3. The Reproductive Stage

The reproductive stage has other sub-stages which are:

Booting stage: At the booting stage, the wheat develops visible heads, which could be found below the sheath called prophyll. That is, the leaves are at the tops form a flag-like structure to hold the spikes. The booting stage ceases whenever the tips of the head, called awns, begin to sprout.

Heading Stage: The heading stage is visible when the one or spike emerges from the prophyll. After this, flowering sets in. The Flowering Stage: During the first stage, the prophyll that emerged from the sheath attracts pollinators like bees, butterflies, and other insects.

And there, pollination takes place followed by the fertilization of the ovaries which leads to the formation of the embryo and endosperm.

Again, just like the jointing stage, all plants should flower at the same time.

The Maturity Stage: The maturity stage is the last stage of growth. It takes place after the fertilization of the ovaries. This maturity stage has other short stages. 

  • The milk stage is the beginning of kernel formation
  • The dough stage is characterized by a hard and well-developed kernel. Nutrient Flows from the stalks and leaves down to the kernel which is usually moist as the dough stage elapses
  • The ripening stage is one where the moist kernel loses its moisture content, ripensed and ready to be harvested

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the stages of wheat growth?

The stages of wheat growth are grouped into three major stages. They are; the pre-establishment stage, vegetative stage and reproductive stage.

How long does it take whatever heat to grow?

Generally, wheat takes about 4 good months to mature.

How much should I water my wheat?

It is advisable to water your wheat 2-3 times per week. However, once the grains begin to mature, there should be a reduction.

When should I harvest my wheat?

Your wheat is due to be harvested after 3-4 months of planting. So, if you plant your wheat during the spring, your wheat should be ready in the next four months.

See Also: Different Rice Growing Stages


Wheat as an annual plant takes about four good months to mature. However, from the time you planted its seeds to the moment of harvest there are 3 basic wheat growing stages.

The pre-establishment stage, vegetative stage and the reproductive stage. Each stage has other subordinate stages.

If you want a high performance of your wheat plant, kindly look out for the stages we explained earlier.